This year’s gala is particularly meaningful, as we are marking the USO’s 75th anniversary and celebrating by expanding our footprint. In 2016, the USO kicked off the “75th Anniversary Challenge Campaign” which will allow us to build 7 new USO centers, 8 new RP/6 locations and 3 new Military Entrance Processing Stations (MEPS), as well as to refurbish 19 existing USO centers around the world. All in, these centers will host more than 2 million visits from service members and their families annually, enabling us to be always by the side of America’s service men and women from the moment they enlist through their deployment and as they transition back into civilian communities. Donations towards the campaign will be celebrated and recognized at the gala on Thursday, October 20.

For more information or to offer your support, please contact 703.740.4942 or gala@uso.org


Thursday, October 20, 2016


DAR Constitution Hall
1776 D Street N.W.
Washington, DC 20006
Email: gala@uso.org for more information



An estimated 1,000 guests gathered to pay special tribute to our men and women in uniform. Guests will include Washington dignitaries, Members of Congress, military leadership, members of the USO Board of Governors, USO corporate sponsors and the media.

1/5 Photos

2/5 Photos

Color Guard on stage at the Washington Convention Center

3/5 Photos

Three-time Grammy Award winner Michael W. Smith performs for the Gala crowd at the Washington Convention Center

4/5 Photos

Richard “Dick” Anderson, USO Volunteer of the Year, U.S.; Army Spc. Christian T. Sheers, USO Soldier of the Year; Army Spc. Christian T. Sheers; Army National Guard Sgt. Sergeant Aaron Burdash, USO National Guardsman of the Year; Air Force Senior Airman TJ Brantley, USO Airman of the Year; Marine Corps Staff Sgt. Joseph P. Bednarik, USO Marine of the Year; Coast Guard Petty Officer 1st Class Angel J. Leott, USO Coast Guardsman of the Year; and Airman 1st Class Eric Chun

5/5 Photos

Army National Guard Sgt.  Aaron Burdash, USO National Guardsman of the Year;  Coast Guard Petty Officer 1st Class Angel J. Leott, USO Coast Guardsman of the Year;  Air Force Senior Airman TJ Brantley, USO Airman of the Year;  Navy Petty Officer 2nd Class Jessica A. Jusino, USO Sailor of the Year; Marine Corps Staff Sgt. Joseph P. Bednarik, USO Marine of the Year; and Army Spc. Christian T. Sheers, USO Soldier of the Year, show off their awards on stage at the 2015 USO Gala.